Jun 16,2012

Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu, the secretary general for Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) in a trip to Afghanistan visited the world’s biggest Quran at Hakim Naser Khusraw Balkhi Cultural Center in Kabul.

During his visit to Kabul, Mr. Ihsanoglu met Alhaj Sayed Mansoor Naderi the main inventor of the idea of creating the biggest holy Quran and said, “This is one of the great and significant achievements in Islamic World. This unique artwork must be introduced to the world.”

The calligraphy of the world’s largest Quran has been done in 218 pages, having a dimension of 228 cm length and 155 cm width by an talented Afghan calligrapher, Mohammad Sabir Hussaini. This unique version of the holy Quran has taken 5 years to complete in Kabul, Afghanistan.

Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu is one of the participants of Kabul Conference which will be attended by representatives from more than 29 countries to follow up with the discussions made during the Istanbul conference last November.

The Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) is the second largest inter-governmental organization after the United Nations which has membership of 57 states spread over four continents. The Organization is the collective voice of the Muslim world and ensuring to safeguard and protect the interests of the Muslim world in the spirit of promoting international peace and harmony among various people of the world.


More Related Information
  Tags:              , , , , ,  

  Posted in         General
May 15,2012

Nairobi. One of Kenya’s oldest urban gardens, Kenya’s capital City Park, is to undergo a major restoration after decades of misuse and neglect.The 60-hectare green situated at Parklands in Nairobi is to be dramatically transformed under a programme run by the Aga Khan Trust for Culture (AKTC).

The Trust and the Kenya government signed a memorandum of understanding  recently in Nairobi. Prince Hussain Aga Khan represented the Trust while on the government side were  former Nairobi Town Clerk Philip Kisia, Permanent Secretary in the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and ministry of Local Government Prof Karega Mutahi and Dr Jacob ole Miaron, Permanent Secretary at the ministry of State for National Heritage and Culture.

The agreement was reached after a two-year negotiation over the possibility of returning the facility to its original use. This means that the Trust will collaborate in the rehabilitation and restoration of the Nairobi City Park to international standards in terms of architecture, landscape and horticulture.

“The agreement marks the initial steps to give the Park a metropolitan face, which will enhance its appeal to Kenyans as well as visiting global citizens,” said Prince Hussain Aga Khan.

“It is an important step towards ensuring that the historical and cultural heritage, as well as the significant biodiversity of Nairobi City Park, are conserved now and for generations to come.”
In its continued support for local cultural heritage, the Trust will fund the restoration. The actual cost of the project will be disclosed later, after deliberations of the steering committee formed by the three signatories have been agreed upon.

“Many of us remember how good it was in the 1960s and ‘70s to go for outings in the Park when it was patronised by both tourists and locals,” said Kenya’s Deputy Prime Minister Musalia Mudavadi. “The experience of rehabilitating and restoring Nairobi City Park will give us direction on how to manage other parks, which also need attention,” he told reporters at the signing.


More Related Information
  Tags:              , , ,  

  Posted in         General, Ismaili News
Apr 28,2012

By The Citizen Reporter

Dar es Salaam.The Aga Khan Award for Architecture would be doubled to $1 million (Sh1.6bn), it has been learnt. According to a statement released by the Agha Khan Development Network (AKDN), his Highness the Aga Khan said doubling of the Award was meant to assist and support the recipients, many of whom are not well-known or well-funded architects or urban planners.

“One of key aspects of the Award is that winners should be able to reposition their future with the support they get from the Award, both professionally and institutionally,” said the Agha Khan on the occasion of the announcement.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is given every three years to projects that set new standards of excellence in architecture, planning practices, historical preservation and landscape architecture. The next prize will be awarded in 2013. Nominations for the Award are now being accepted and will run until 15 September 2012.

The Award, says the statement, seeks projects that represent the broadest possible range of architectural interventions, with particular attention given to building schemes that use local resources and appropriate technology in innovative ways, and those that are likely to inspire similar efforts globally. The projects must successfully address the needs and aspirations of societies in which Muslims have a significant presence.

In recent cycles, the Award has encouraged the submission of projects which improve public spaces and which tackle the issues of rural societies and communities on the peripheries of urban centres as well as industrial buildings that provide a quality environment for employees.

Recent recipients of the Award include well-known architects such as Norman Foster and Cesar Pelli, but also municipalities, master masons and clients. In 2010, the five recipients of the triennial prize were: a school integrated into a bridge in Xiashi, Fujian, China, the Wadi Hanifa Wetlands in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, and the Ipekyol Textile Factory in Edirne, Turkey, the Madinat al-Zahra Museum in Cordoba, Spain and the Revitalisation of the Hypercentre of Tunis, Tunisia. Other projects that have received the Award since its first ceremony in 1980 include a slum networking project in Indore, India, the Central Market of Koudougou, Burkina Faso and the National Assembly building in Dhaka, Bangladesh.


More Related Information
  Tags:              ,  

  Posted in         Ismaili News